Just add a belt!!!

8 Dec

 

I know what you’re thinking.  Why the heck does she have a picture of food on her style blog?!  Well, I have earned bragging rights my friend.  This is what my hubby had waiting on me when I got home this evening.  Chicken Cacciatore–YUM!  At the bottom of this (long) post, I will give you the recipe and you MUST try it.  If you know Ty and I very well then you know we both like to cook and are pretty good at it when we just put forth the effort! :)

On a more serious note, as you know if you read yesterday’s post, my dad had his back surgery today and it was a success!!  Thank you to those of you who kept him in your prayers. 

Now on to style…Belts are still a great way to add the perfect touch to your outfits. If you want to accentuate your waist line, add some texture to a simple dress, or just add some fun to an outfit, belts are the way to go!

Well you know I love this because I'm obsessed with sparkle right now!!! LOVE THIS!!!

Love the rugged boots with the dress...We've got some great ones at the store to choose from right now!

I could SO get her into some better shoes! :) Just sayin'

Now on to some creations out of my closet…  Oh, if only I could record Ty and I while doing our little photo shoot.  He’s quite the photographer.

Here's a dress out of my closet before adding a belt...

...and with a belt. Also, a good way to take a summer-y dress into fall--just add some tights and you're set!

Ok, so here we have a menswear inspired shirt dress and cowboy boots...very plain...

...I added a belt, a sleeveless sweater cardigan and cozy socks. For more added layers/warmth, add cotton leggings or a chunkier long-sleeved cardigan. (dang! I am WHITE! ha!)

A basic sweater dress...

...from plain to not-so-plain! See how a fun belt and a little layering can make such a difference?!

For "office professional" all black is great, but...boring. (sorry, the blacks are different shades--oops!)

So much better!! So simple, just add a belt! I love mixing black and brown. :)

Basic white and black...

...add a wide, braided belt and it snazzes it up a little!

Don't get me wrong...I LOVE a loose, flowy dress but sometimes I feel like I need a defined waist line, or just a different look. So guess what the next post will be?! ;)

You guessed it!!! A great belt will do the trick!!

 Wasn’t this fun!!??  Remember, I’d be happy to come over and help you create new looks out of what you already own in your closet.  If you have any questions just email me at allthingssoleful@yahoo.com.   Also, make sure you subscribe to my blog (click on the button over on the right side of the page).  I will be using the subscription list for some ideas I am going to try to do as added perks for all of you FABULOUS allthingssoleful followers in 2011!!!

Okay, as promised earlier, here is the recipe for those of you who enjoy sharing recipes…

1 hour; makes 6 servings

2.5-3 lbs chicken breast (or whatever chicken pieces you prefer)

2 tblsp olive oil, 1.5 cups sliced fresh mushrooms, 1 med onion sliced, 1 clove garlic minced,

(1) 14.5 oz can tomatoes undrained, (1) 6 oz can tomatoe paste, 3/4 cup dry white wine, 1 tsp sugar,

1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp dried rosemary crushed, 1/2 tsp dried thyme crushed, 1/4 dried oregano crushed,

1/8 tsp black pepper, linguine noodles.

*skin chicken. in a 12 inch skillet cook chicken in hot oil about 15 minutes or until light brown, turning to brown evenly. remove chicken from skillet, reserving drippings in skillet, set chicken aside.

*add mushrooms, onions, garlic to drippins in skillet. cook and stir about 5 minutes and return chicken to skillet.

*meanwhile in medium bowl combine undrained tomatoes, tomatoe paste, wine, sugar, salt, rosemary, thyme, oregano and pepper. poor over chicken in skillet. bring to boil; reduce heat. simmer, covered, for 30-35 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink, turning over once during cooking. If desired, serve over hot cooked pasta.

Nutritional facts per serving: around 280 calories!

Hope you had a wonderful Wednesday.  Tomorrow is the Night of Giving at Central Mall from 9pm-midnight.  Warren’s will be offering additional discounts, along with most other stores in the mall.  All proceeds go to various charities.  Come out and get your Christmas shopping done tomorrow night and help out a good cause!

Until next time…I hope you have a blessed day!

xoxo, Meg

One Response to “Just add a belt!!!”

  1. Erin December 9, 2010 at 5:49 am #

    Love the belts!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

